AMP Summer Series: Round 8

The final round of the AMP Summer Series saw the usual drivers battle it out across the two-race format but the stakes were higher with the series championship on the line. 

Race One

Points leader, Raiden Nicol started on pole alongside Keith Williamson as Bill Miller and Jose Garcia occupied the second row. Blake Fabiani, who started fifth, made contact on the opening lap and ran wide through turn one. He suffered damage which forced him to retire from the race before the end of lap one. 

Out front, it didn’t take long for Nicol and Williamson to create a gap over the rest of the field but Williamson was unable to get close enough to Nicol to challenge for the lead. The battle for third was the tightest on track as Garcia pressured Miller and had a couple looks down the inside before finally making the move stick around the outside of turn one with seven minutes remaining in the race. 

Shortly afterward, Bill Kring brought out the full course caution after he ended up in the barriers at the exit of turn 14. Following a lengthy caution period, race officials restarted the race under green, white, checkered conditions. 

There was no position change in the top three over the last two laps but further back Miller lost a couple of positions before the checkered flag fell on race one. 

Race Two

Nicol controls the start of the second race as Garcia is able to get up the inside of Williamson at turn one and take second in the early stages of the race. Williamson stayed within striking distance and eventually retook second place with twelve minutes remaining in the race. 

Their battle allowed Nicol to create a massive lead and cruise out front for the remainder of the race. Nicol’s dominant performance capped off a dominant showing in the series as a whole as he took home the series title in his first attempt. Garcia managed to finish second in the series despite finishing behind Williamson in the race. 

Jeremy Buckingham was the lone E30 in both races and took home the series title ahead of Chris Huhn.