AMP Kart Racing Summer Series Round 3 Recap

By: Steve Newbold

Atlanta Motorsport Park, one of the most beautiful kart tracks in the country was the host of AMP’s Kart Series Round Three on Saturday, May, 7th. The weather was just right for some high octane kart racing in the hills of Dawsonville, Georgia. URN’s own Steve Newbold was once again a part of the AMP broadcast crew. Lets dive in to all of the racing action!

The first race of the day is one of my personal favorites, LO206 Cadet and Juniors. Most of this class is composed of young drivers, but do not let the young age fool you. These younger drivers are some of the best wheel-men and women that I personally have ever seen. The racing action was back and forth between Lincoln Massey and Alyssa Vasscocu for the entire duration of the race. Lincoln closed the door on Alyssa and secured the victory. The results for the Cadet division, Licoln Massey, Lanie Thigpen and Ryan Hall round out the top three. The results for the Junior division, Alyssa Vasscocu, Ian Patterson and Luke Kohrman round off the top three.

If you missed this next race it was your loss, the action was beyond Ungovernable. Race number two was the grown up’s, LO206 Master and Seniors. The battle for the top five was so intense that I personally lost track of all the different competitors involved. At the end of the day it came down to two of the most fierce competitors , THE COOKIE MONSTER Matt Lassiter and THE MILK MAN Danny May. These two battled back and forth the entire race, swapping paint was involved. In the end THE MILK MAN came out on top over THE COOKIE MONSTER, looks like Matt will have to wait till next race day for cookies! The top three for each division, Senior Ryan Curtin, Nicholas Lefferdo and Jacob Scnyder. Master, Danny May, Matt Lassiter and Aaron Cox.

We slow it down a little bit on this next race for our Kid Kart division. These little guys and girls are just starting their Motorsports venture, most drivers are around 5-6. The best part about this division is they show no fear and wanna go wide open right from the drop of the green. These drivers take an alternate configuration called the JellyBean, due to its shape. The four drivers completed the event in this order, Luca Vino-Figueroa, Arlo Stowers, Nazar Martyenko and Mattias Sandbloom.

We continued your monthly dose of high octane with the TAG Master and Senior divisions. The TAG karts are high octane, high output, water cooled racing karts. They can reach speeds of up to 90 mph on select tracks. The Master division was won by Craig Foster followed by Jose Garcia and Ian Washburn. Senior Division was a close battle and was narrowly won by Leonardo Prates, followed by Harrison Browning and Pablo Benites.

Quickly following the conclusion of the Master Senior Division, the younger drivers took to the track. The rookie and cadet division was a wonderful race followed by some of the best sportsmanship in the post race interview. Between both divisions the racing was tight and very clean. Camila Canache took home the victory in the Rookie class followed closely by Isaac Caravlho and Fransico Puerta. Ryan Peres took home the victory in the Cadet class followed by Callen Berghaoefer and Martin Fanaian.

Shortly after this event I had to leave the track due to prior obligations at Rome Speedway and unfortunately I have no recap for the remaining two divisions but we do have the results. Be sure to check out our friends at Atlanta Motorsports park, in the beautiful North Georgia mountains. The facility is state of the art and even offers public karting from all ages. Be sure to call ahead and make your reservations, you can do so at

To finish off the day the Ka100 juniors and Seniors battled. Andrew Hammil took home the win foloowed by Talon Laney and Adam Wein in the Junior division. Jarvis Li, Teodor Simenov and Jose Garcia complete the 1 2 3 of the Senior division. Shifters hit the track to close out the day of racing at AMP. The division was smaller than usual due to a nationals race in North Carolina, five competitors laid down the rubber. The Senior division was won by Oz Cheek followed by Joe Foster. The Master’s was won by Daniel Perez followed by Evan Bonfonti and Tyler Witte.

Be sure to join AMP next week, for round two of the AMP Car racing Summer Series.
The field is already filling up, be sure to tune in live on the AMP Youtube or Facebook page. If you are in the area spectating is free. Remember REMAIN UNGOVERNABLE!

All Photo credits go to our good friend Trevor Metscher.