2021 AMP Karting Series: Round 2 Report

The second round of the AMP Karting Series featured a packed field and perfect weather for racing. The races throughout the day saw some familiar faces on top of the podium as well as some new ones.

Lo206 Cadet and Junior Final:

Adam Wein (Cadet) started on pole alongside Alyssa Vascocu (Junior) and they were able to hold their positions for the opening lap. Olivier Piatek (Junior), who started sixth, made up three positions and began to pressure the top two drivers. Joseph Saddington (Cadet) also got in on the fight for the lead and drew alongside Piatek and Vascocu into turn four. Three into one didn’t work and they made contact but all three drivers were able to continue. 

Piatek briefly took the lead on lap three before Saddington took control of the lead pack. He led Piatek and Wein ahead of the rest of the field for the next several laps as each driver waited for an opportunity to take the lead. Piatek was unable to create an opportunity to pass and with two laps to go Wein overtook him for second place. That overtake caused both drivers to lose time and Saddington won by just over a second.

T225 Senior Final: 

Al Edwards started on pole ahead of Curtis Cantrell and they created a large gap over the rest of the field after a lap one pileup at turn nine affected every driver except the top two. All drivers were able to continue but the field was spread out as everyone got back up to speed. 

Cantrell passed Edwards shortly afterwards and was able to slowly extend his lead for the remainder of the race. He finished ten seconds ahead of Edwards with McAleer finishing 20 seconds off the lead in third. 

TaG Junior, Senior, and Master Final:

Leonardo Oliveira (Senior) started on pole and quickly disappeared into the distance as he averaged more than a second a lap quicker than anyone else on track. George Zarragotia (Master) briefly passed Jose Garcia (Master), who started second and retook his starting position early in the race. 

Craig Foster (Master), Matheus Prates (Senior), and Zarragotia fought over the remaining podium position for the rest of the race and Foster was able to claim it in the final laps. 

TaG Rookie and Cadet Final:

Kai Mars (Rookie) started on pole with Matteo Franco Ruggiero (Cadet) behind and they got out to an early lead as they battled for the win. Ruggiero tried to send it down the inside at turn four but caused both drivers to spin. Ruggiero rejoined the track ahead of Mars who slowly reeled in the new race leader. Mars retook the lead at turn nine with four laps to go before Ruggiero retired on the last lap, handing Leo Koslowski second and Blaise Holbrook third overall. 

KA100 Final:

Jacob Schneider (Senior) started first with Jose Garcia (Senior), Jacob Hughes (Senior), and Leonardo Oliveira (Senior) behind. Raiden Nicol (Senior) started eighth and gained four places on the opening lap as Garcia took the lead at the front. On lap four Nicol passed all top three drivers and took the lead. 

He extended his lead for the remainder of the race as the driver behind fought over second and third. With four to go, Oliveira passed Garcia for second and they finished in that order three seconds behind Nicol. 

Lo206 Senior and Master Final:

Al Edwards (Senior) starts on pole ahead of Brandt Estes (Senior), Matt Lassiter (Senior), and Carson Craig (Senior). Edwards maintained the lead as Craig slotted into second behind. Nick Lefferdo got in on the action towards the end of the race and was able to snag second, 1.2 seconds behind Edwards who won. Matt Lassiter rounded off the podium in third.